1977-78 Topps Footballers

77 Topps Footballers TudorTopps produced soccer cards under the name “Footballer” from 1975-1981 consisting of players from England’s First and Second Division which are now, essentially, the Premier League and the Championship. According to the great Topps Archive, Topps had partnered with A&BC in the late-fifties/early-sixties to release sets under their name before they became Topps UK in 1975. So for you Toppsophiles, they essentially put out soccer sets from 1959-1981. Often, they borrowed designs from baseball sets, such as in 1960 and 1963. I actually had no idea Topps did these Footballer sets until a few months ago when I saw a post on Diamond Cuts and Wax Stains featuring one from the 1975-76 set which, again, borrows its design from a baseball set. Plenty of more information on all these sets over at Nigel’s Webspace.

I was at a card show a couple of weeks ago and found a lot of 13 of these from the 1977-78 set. After a little haggling, I left with all of them for an even $5. Most have soft corners and a few appear to have eraser marks like the Tudor card above. I would love to complete the set even though I know virtually nothing about seventies English soccer but the cards are hard to come by in the States so I’m filing it away under “unreasonable”  and “wishful thinking” for now.

Here are some of the highlights:

I knew nothing about any of these players before this post. Selections were purely based on aesthetics. Love those Queens Park Rangers jerseys.

I’ll (hopefully) have another soccer related post tomorrow. But for now, enjoy the back of John Tudor’s card, which does a great job at epitomizing an American’s strange perception of English soccer.

77 Topps Footballers Tudor2

10 thoughts on “1977-78 Topps Footballers

  1. Hi, I may be able to help with this. Drop me an email at Rob(dot)PBS(at)gmail(dot)com
    I am in the UK and these are abundant on eBay UK and various forums

  2. Is there a good ebay key word or shop that sells the 1975 and 1976 soccer sets? Do you have to go to the UK ebay site or something? Are these found on a price guide anywhere, if so how much does a set run? Thank you!

    • I usually use the search “topps footballers” and “topps footballer”. The quotes help cut down on American football cards.

      If you’re willing to purchase from UK sellers you can use advance search and scroll down and limit your search to the UK only. That helps a lot.

      Good luck!

  3. Hi,

    I have a lot of cards from 1977 and 1979. I got them, that will say I inherit, from an older boy when I was a kid and they’ve been in a plastic bag in a dry room ever since. I am about to move and found them when I was packing. Are the cards of any interest? I could take some pictures if you are interested

    Regards
    Stig Hay

Leave a Reply

