This Post is Brought to You by the Molson Brewing Co.

I’m not quite sure of the upside of sponsorship on practice jerseys. Who’s there? Where’s the marketing potential, to the fellow players on the team? (Then again, many Flames appear wearing them in the ’83-’84 set, so maybe that was their plan all along?) I like Molson, it was my hockey/Bruins beer of choice but since the Molson family have purchased the Canadiens I’ve faced a conflict of interest. I switched temporarily to Black Label but then I figured out the brand was owned by Molson so I’m back to square one. Most of you are probably wondering why a good Boston boy isn’t drinking Sam Adams but I’m on an adjunct professor’s budget and I prefer pilsners. Anyways, this is one of my favorite cards from the early eighties. Great design, great colors; somehow that ugly green/blue balance out the red and yellow of Calgary’s jersey. Plus, Lemelin looks so cool. I have no doubt that he’s hiding a can or two of Molson in his glove.

Lemelin and Andy Moog split time in the net for the Bruins the first few seasons I got into hockey, leading them to the Cup Finals in 1988 and 1990, winning the Jennings Trophy for lowest combined GAA during the latter season.

The back of the card mentions the Flames playing in the old Stampede Corral during Lemelin’s rookie season. I was going to write a little about it as I’ve done with other strange  and vacated NHL arenas but instead, I’ll let this picture do the talking.

3 thoughts on “This Post is Brought to You by the Molson Brewing Co.

  1. I was so mad at those cards. That was the season after we moved from Calgary and I couldn’t believe they’d use those practice jerseys in a set. Never saw that done before or since.

Leave a Reply

