2011 Allen and Ginter

Dream of the 1890’s

This is another set I’m working on; all the base cards, minis, and inserts. They’re fairly rare, I think at only 1-2 a case. Most prices are silly on eBay (especially Brian Wilson’s) but I was able to get this for a decent amount.

Even though I teach English as a Second Language, I admit that I had to look up “flocculence” in the dictionary. It’s the noun form of flocculent, which means “having a fluffy or woolly appearance.” Unlike the previously mentioned Champ’s Rookies, these inserts really nails the aesthetic and matter of the  early 20th century. Ditto the rest of the inserts, though Topps made a few decisions with their base set I’d say are strange at the very least.

A connection between an obsession with strange facial hair that existed in the 1890’s and its current renaissance was parodied in the latest episode of Portlandia in which Fred Armisen sports a bib.

Usually, Allen and Ginter inserts have terrific backs that are cleverly written, so I was disappointed to flip this one over and find only a checklist.

3 thoughts on “2011 Allen and Ginter

  1. I heard you might be interested in the 2011 Allen and Ginter Magenta Printing plate of John Mcenroe. I am not sure I want to part with it as to its rarity but I figured I would give you the first opportunity to make an offer before I start shopping it. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

